Notice the world…

I was taking a leisurely walk to the shop the other day, instead of taking the car like I ordinarily do. As I was walking, I noticed a small path I’ve never seen before between shrubbery and trees. I realised that I’ve never noticed it before because I’m usually in such a rush to get to my destination and back before my lunch break finishes so I’ve either power walked or driven straight past it many times before.

This realisation got me thinking about all of the things people miss because of the rush that is their life. I think that we’re all in too much of a rush to actually notice the world around us. When we go out we tend to primarily think about the destination, and we don’t give much if any thought to the things along the route we take to get there.

The same could be said about our lives. Some people are in such a rush to get to maturity, or chasing that dream job that they forget to actually live their lives, as well as chase the fantasy of the life they want. I say “as well as” because I think it’s good to have a dream to aspire to, otherwise what are we living for?

I don’t particularly want to spend my days rushing around with tunnel vision, only to realise that I’ve missed so much along the way. I don’t know about you, but there’s a lot to see in this world, and I intend on devouring every last bit of it, wherever my life takes me. Will you?

Leave a thought.

